Final Logo Project

For the soccer ball, I looked online and searched how to turn a picture into a vector. I then image traced the photo and then expanded it. The place where I got the photo from was, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Soccerball.svg. The logo design is a little bit different from my sketch that I did before, which I was very happy about actually. It improved a whole lot! The soccer ball and placement of my soccer number is the same, but instead of the G and C being connected more to the outer part of the circle, it is now more of an overlay lettering. The G and C form Go Cougs, but also it draws the logo back to me because my first name starts with a “G”, and my last name starts with a “C.” Coincidence? I think not!  For my words, I just used the simple text tool and played around with my sizing and fonts.

After reading the amazing feedback that I received, I realized that a common theme of suggestion was the need for color in my logo. My suggestions were to add a splotch of color within my soccer number within the center of the soccer ball, to add color only to the isolated “o” and “ougs,” or  to just add it to the “G” and “C.” I liked all of those ideas, but I later decided that I would add color to the whole “Go Cougs” because that is what I want to stand out. Also, I was told that my letters were too close together, so I decided that I would spread them out so that  it was not such a distraction to the eye. My inspiration for my design came from a variety of places. I looked specifically at Nike, Adidas, and the wording of major sports stores and companies. I realized that what they all had in common were special fonts, simple black and white, and a sharpness about them. So as I was creating my logo I took that into consideration. I think I did a good job at putting my own style into my logo, but I also did well at strongly taking into consideration what has worked so well for the popular, high end companies like, Nike, Adidas, Soccer west and so many more. I am excited to share my logo.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑